Tourists in Toledo - Reisverslag uit Madrid, Spanje van Carlotta Smalen - WaarBenJij.nu Tourists in Toledo - Reisverslag uit Madrid, Spanje van Carlotta Smalen - WaarBenJij.nu

Tourists in Toledo

Door: Carlotta Smalen (the one and only)

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Carlotta

20 Juli 2014 | Spanje, Madrid

Helloooooo Holland,

I can't feel my legs, I can't feel my legs!! That's what Olaf said in Frozen, didn't he? And I feel like Olaf the snowman right now. I can't feel my legs!!! I am tired... Oh by the way: maybe you have already noticed, but I am writing in English. Don't worry, I still speak Dutch. You can blaim Rachel for the English blog. I went to Toledo with this Jordy and she wanted to read my blog. So now she can read all gossip about her (I am such a good Gossip Girl) and as a reward, I get a Photo of her friend Ryan Wheanley. Rumour has it that he looks a lot like Ron Weasley...

OK, so me and Rachel were tourists in Toledo for one day and I had an extremely good time. Toledo is an old city with especially lost of churches. And I feel like a teacher now, but let me tell you something about the town:

- it is steep so we spent most of out time climbing the bloody hills
- it used to be the Spanish capital in those times King Arthur was alive
- the churches are scary
- so that's why they built synagogues and mosques
- one of the most interesting things you can buy in this remote village are swords
- there is a MacDonald's

Ooooh I feel so bad when I admit this but the first thing we dis was eating a McFlurry... I paid with a 50 euro note and it took the waiter 10 minutes to give me the Change. He must have been so bad at maths at school... Later on his female collegue thought I called her señor and she didn't appreciate that...
OK after the Flurry we wandered around in order to find the Torture Museum. I know, this sounds creepy and it is but there was literally nothing else to do so the Torture thing was our only escape. By the way, Rachel's Facebook told her she is going to die in 2033 as a victim of The Third World War. Of course Rachel I hope you won't die at all then but if you do, let's pray you won't die of torture (or worse: torture with stickers)...

OK so no torture museum but a long afternoon stroll instead (which includes getting lost), a mosque, closed Roman Bats and Arabian Food. Not tajine!!! No it was actually quite delicious but I don't know what it was. After the best lunch ever, we passed the se square for 4 times, but when we really needed to be there, we couldn't find it. We were hunting for churros, the best Spanish invention ever. But they are only good when there is good chocolate and that wasn't the case in Toledo. So it was a waste of money AND I became fatter.
After the churros, we HAD to visit a church because we wanted a good view. One creepy church was the only place to be. For those who didn't know this: churches freak me out. Or not the churches, but the dying Jesus. I now a church should be a place to rest but it only makes me nervous when I know someone is dying behind me. I never fully recovered from my fear during the Italy journey with school, when we visited a palace where Jesus was dying in every room. But hey, I am not alone, Noor when you are reading this: I wish you good luck in all those Italian churches. Say hi to dying Jesus from me (if you dare to look).
By the way folks, I do like Maria or Maria holding baby Jesus. It's just the death I don't like. Unfortunately, churches can only chose between these two Jesuses and they usually choose the dying one.
There were more dead things that said Hi to me in the church, like a creepy skeleton some was holding. And the stairs to the roof were scary too, even though no one died there. The roof and the view both made me very happy, so my fear was worth it. Thanks, church. I had a really good time. Oh and before I forget: Rachel, thanks to you too ;)

OK I guess this is going to be my only English story, but I quite liked it. Sorry mom. You can ask Frank to help you reading this weird story. But you are quite good yourself!


Hasta mañana!!!! (My language skills are just so good :) )

  • 21 Juli 2014 - 15:43

    Peggy:

    Ha Carlotta!
    Wat maak jij veel mee zeg:leuke en minder leuke dingen, mooie en minder mooie dingen. Wat knap dat je na een dal weer omhoog klimt!
    En dan ook nog oesters eten, wow! En ik zou niet al teveel energie steken in die verwende nesten .... Dat is in 5 weken echt niet te veranderen.

    Wens ik je voor wij richting Azië gaan nog heel veel plezier. Ik vind het super goed van je dat je deze uitdaging bent aangegaan! Liefs, Hennie en Peggy

  • 21 Juli 2014 - 15:44

    Peggy:

    Nog vergeten te zeggen: wat schrijf je leuk!

  • 21 Juli 2014 - 16:33

    Hankz:

    My dear Car,
    Thank you so much for your great story. And this time in English.
    Lucky that I speak that language too, so reading your blog was peanuts for me:))
    I'm glad that you've had a great day with Rachel.
    I'm sure a lot of your readers would like to go with you to beautiful Toledo. You're a great guide.
    Now your third week as an au-pair has started.
    Have a nice day, my darling. We will app tonight again.
    Miss you, love you!

    By the way: your mom is much better in English than you and she thought:))))

    Kiss, kiss Mami

    PS Wish you a lot of luck with Ale today.
    *Hoop dat haar ouders geen Nederlands kunnen lezen but ....... you never know; )))

  • 22 Juli 2014 - 09:30

    Carlotta Smalen:

    Hoi Peggy en Hennie!

    Wat ontzettend leuk om een berichtje van jullie te krijgen!
    Ja, het au pair zijn is lang niet altijd makkelijk maar het gaat gelukkig steeds beter.
    Gelukkig zijn er ook een heleboel andere au pairs die dezelfde dingen meemaken als ik""
    Heeeeeeel veeeeeeel plezier in Indonesië, jullie gaan vast een supertijd tegemoet!

    Liefs,
    Carlotta

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Carlotta

Actief sinds 30 Juni 2014
Verslag gelezen: 203
Totaal aantal bezoekers 28377

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Augustus 2019 - 30 Augustus 2020

Lotty Malone

03 September 2017 - 02 September 2018

Made in China

06 April 2016 - 22 Juni 2016

Made in Taiwan

30 Juni 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

02 Juli 2014 - 09 Augustus 2014

La vida española

Landen bezocht: